Quick Facts

Official Name: Republic of Zimbabwe
Population: 12,462,879
Capital City: Harare (pop. 1,600,000)
Currency: US$ Dollar (U$D) – Visa card can be used at Barclays Bank ATMs. Not all hotels or tourism resorts have credit card facilities. Cash is best.
Languages: English (official), Shona, Sindebele, & numerous tribal dialects
Independence Day: April 18
Religions: Syncretic (50%), Christian (25%), others
Country Dialling Codes: 263
Electricity: Zimbabwe uses 220 volts AC (50 Hz)
Land Area: 390,624 sq km (150,820 sq miles)
Coastline: 0 (landlocked)
Highest Point: Inyangani – 8,503 ft. (2,592 m)
Lowest Point: Intersection of the Runde and Save Rivers – 531 ft. (162m)
Land Divisions: 8 provinces and 2 cities with provincial status, provinces include: Manicaland, Mashonaland Central, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West, Masvingo, Matabeleland North, Matabeleland South and Midlands. Provincial cities include: Bulawayo and Harare
Latitude/Longitude: 17° 50′ S, 31° 03′ E
Visas: Entry visas are required for most nationalities and can be bought on arrival. Check when booking your holiday if you need a visa.